RSS

Phishing on its face.

23 Feb

You thought that guy ganking you was an asshole?

I knew about phishing a while back, but the email finally snuck into my main box. Frankly, I fucked up on this one. I actually clicked on the link. Chrome TOTALLY saved my ass with a last minute reminder that I wasn’t going where I thought I was. So now I’m here, password intact and a phishing scam wiser.

Now, I know what you’re thinking, why doesn’t NCsoft find these guys and put them into the ground? They probably are, but remember, the law on the internet moves slow. You wonder why they started that stupid safety campaign a while back? It’s because preventative measures save support from having to hound down your account because you forgot to apply internet-common sense.

So yeah, if you see this, don’t do what I did and check your Aion login first, then if its changed, go to support directly through their site and submit a ticket. Yeah, yeah, I know, “NCsoft doesn’t care, bawwwww,” but seriously, my legionmate got hacked and he got everything back. Just takes a week and a half for them to sift through their protocol and whatnot.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 23, 2010 in Aion

 

Tags: ,

Leave a comment